Trenton, NJ: Capitol Complex 1.17.2018 – On the first full day after his Inauguration, Governor Phil Murphy today signed an executive order outlining the ethics and standards of the administration. Under Governor Murphy’s executive order, there will be tightened restrictions for the Governor on receiving gifts and fewer loopholes for upgrades or giveaways.

“This administration will have the back of every New Jersey resident and that begins with having a government they can trust,” said Governor Murphy. “Our principles are strong and, today, we have taken the first step toward a fairer New Jersey.”

Governor Murphy’s executive order was signed as he met with his Cabinet for the first time, with more appointments forthcoming. The Cabinet is the most diverse in state history, a group that includes eight women, the first Muslim commissioner in state history, the first Sikh commissioner in state history, and the first Latina to head the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance.

“I am proud to say that our Cabinet looks like the state of New Jersey,” Governor Murphy said. “In one of the most diverse states in the nation, those in leadership should reflect the people they are chosen to serve. Our Cabinet celebrates this state’s diversity and intelligence and sends a powerful message to residents that there is room for them in government and decision-making.”

Governor Murphy’s Cabinet:

Attorney General Gurbir Grewal

Community Affairs Commissioner and Lieutenant Governor Sheila Oliver

Transportation Commissioner Diane Gutierrez-Scaccetti

Treasurer Elizabeth Muoio

Education Commissioner Lamont Repollet

Health Commissioner Shereef Elnahal

Secretary of State Tahesha Way

Labor and Workforce Development Commissioner Robert Asaro-Angelo

Banking and Insurance Commissioner Marlene Caride

DEP Commissioner Catherine McCabe

Adjutant General Col. Jemal Beale

Homeland Security Director Jared Maples

Corrections Commissioner Gary Lanigan

Agriculture Secretary Douglas Fisher

Children and Families Commissioner Christine Norbut Beyer

Human Services Commissioner Carole Johnson

Board of Public Utilities President Joe Fiordaliso